NEWEST UPDATE ON HUMMINGBIRD IN THE WILDS’ OF WASHINGTON- Wooden Hat Rack- Please see bottom of page.

Want to know how long it takes me to produce one of our wood products? Look at the dates on some of the photos starting with the first edition of this post. Mark it on your calendar until I announce the completion and post the new photos.

I love what I do and I love it when people purchase my usable artwork like this hat rack. I am an artist all the way through what else can I say…..

This piece is drawn in #2 pencil as a rough draft, I have burned it as it is coming along slowly but bit by bit it is taking shape.

The hummingbird is but just one of my favorite animals in their natural habitats caught in action via my camera which I then transfer to wood, glass, clothing,etc.

Using a fine tip the minute details are able to be seen, course when totally complete the details will be more visible to the naked eye.

Hummingbird in the Wilds of Washington progress close up 2

Right side, starting the transfer from photo to wooden hat rack .

Hummingbird in the Wilds of Washington progress update.

Right Center, drawing in the outlines of the island while adding

more fauna in mid range of eye sight as the island is rough drawn

into place just a tad bit farther across the scene.

More Hummingbird in the Wilds of Washington photos 2010

Center, Island inclusion completed, minute details to be included soon.

Hummingbird in the Wilds of Washington update photos, wood burning complete, phase two started. 2nd set of photos

With the minute details complete, and I am satisfied that I haven’t

over drawn or left out any wild life, the Wood burning is finally complete, ready for stage 2.

Stay tuned for more updates about this hat rack- it can be customized for your tastes, I chose my hummingbird and Don loves the fact that I included an eagle in the oncoming style. It is flying low to the water in an effort at fishing, this eagle is very young and is just starting out.

The way it flew over head I could see the white & brown colors of a young eagle, the head devoid of white as the mature eagles reflect.

 

PAINTING STARTED, from Black & Tan to colorization.

Painted areas of the hummingbird hat rack. In progress, have decided to change the direction of the whole painting.

Right side, putting in the base coat to help with shading in the later stages.

Painted areas of the hummingbird hat rack. In progress, have decided to change the direction of the whole painting. 

Center, Grasses & leaves are being added to the island.

Painted areas of the hummingbird hat rack. In progress, have decided to change the direction of the whole painting. Painted areas of the hummingbird hat rack. In progress, have decided to change the direction of the whole painting.

Left side, Closer view of bird & sandy area- in the middle of painting

this I decided to change the direction of the painting- keep a look out for more updates as they are posted.

 Bringing life to the hat rack

Close up of the newest colors for this hat rack. 

1/25/011- HUMMINGBIRD UPDATE #3

I have been filling in the rest of the flora & fauna even some of the wild life around here- although some of the true coloring may not be exact. I love to take photographs of places & things I have done (mostly nature photos) and some of them get put onto whatever ‘canvas’ I have available- some of the photos have bits taken to form a new nature scene. I hope you enjoy my art as much as I do making it.

100_1834 Photo 1A

Right side close up- I hope this helps you find the frog!

When you find the frog please let me know which photo you saw it in.

100_1836 Photo 1B

Right side of hat rack- I put a frog on this side, try to find the frog.

     Photo 1C

6/16/011- HUMMINGBIRD UPDATE #4

Hummingbird detail painting complete Now it is ready for the trim to be painted- do you have any suggestions as to what hue would make this pop? Leave a comment.

